Howard Hawks timeline

  • "Scarface" Is Released

    Scarface (also known as Scarface: The Shame of the Nation and The Shame of a Nation) is a 1932 American gangster film, directed by Howard Hawks and... Read more

  • "Bringing Up Baby" Is Released

    Bringing Up Baby is a 1938 screwball comedy film directed by Howard Hawks and starring Katharine Hepburn and Cary Grant. It tells the story of a... Read more

  • "Only Angels Have Wings" Is Released

    Only Angels Have Wings (1939) is a movie directed by Howard Hawks, starring Cary Grant and Jean Arthur. It is generally regarded as being among... Read more

  • "His Girl Friday" Is Released

    His Girl Friday is a 1940 screwball comedy film directed by Howard Hawks, an adaptation by Charles Lederer, Ben Hecht and Charles MacArthur of the... Read more

  • "Sergeant York" Is Released

    Sergeant York is a 1941 biographical film about the life of Alvin York, the most-decorated American soldier of World War I. It was directed by... Read more

  • The Big Sleep is Released

    The Big Sleep is a 1946 film noir directed by Howard Hawks, the first film version of Raymond Chandler's 1939 novel of the same name. It stars... Read more

  • "Red River" Is Released

    Red River is a 1948 Western film directed by Howard Hawks, giving a fictional account of the first cattle drive from Texas to Kansas along the... Read more

  • "Gentlemen Prefer Blondes" Is Released

    Gentlemen Prefer Blondes is a 1953 film adaptation of the 1949 stage musical, released by 20th Century Fox, directed by Howard Hawks and starring... Read more