France timeline

  • Law of Suspects

    The Law of Suspects is a term which is used to refer to an enactment passed on September 17, 1793 during the course of the French Revolution. It... Read more

  • Convention Passes the General Maximum

    General Maximum or The Law of the Maximum was a law created during the course of the French Revolution as an extension of the Law of Suspects on 29... Read more

  • Marie Antoinette Is Executed

    Marie Antoinette was declared guilty of treason in the early morning of 16 October, after two days of proceedings. The same day at 12:15 pm, two... Read more

  • The First Issue of Le Vieux Cordelier is Published

    During the French Revolution, Le Vieux Cordelier was a journal of which seven issues were published, between 5 December 1793 and 25 January 1794.... Read more

  • The White Terror

    The White Terror took place in 1794, during the period known as the Thermidorian Reaction, in the aftermath of the Reign of Terror. It was... Read more

  • The Last Edition of Jacques Hebert's Le Pere Duchesne is Produced

    Le Père Duchesne (Old Man Duchesne or Father Duchesne) was an extreme radical newspaper during the French Revolution, edited by Jacques Hébert, who... Read more

  • The National Convention Establishes the Cult of the Supreme Being

    The Cult of the Supreme Being (French: Culte de l'Être suprême) was a form of deism devised by Maximilien Robespierre, intended to become the state... Read more

  • Law of 22 Prairial

    Every citizen is empowered to seize conspirators and counterrevolutionaries, and to bring them before the magistrates. He is required to denounce... Read more

  • Battle of Fleurus

    In the Battle of Fleurus (26 June 1794) French forces under Jourdan defeated an Austrian army under Saxe-Cobourg in one of the most decisive... Read more

  • Thermidorian Reaction

    The Thermidorian Reaction was a revolt in the French Revolution against the excesses of the Reign of Terror. It was triggered by a vote of the... Read more

  • Peace of Basel

    The Peace of Basel of 1795 consists of three peace treaties involving France (represented by François de Barthélemy). France made peace with... Read more

  • French Constitution of 1795

    The Constitution of 22 August 1795 (also known as the Constitution of the Year III, or the Constitution of 5 Fructidor) was a national constitution... Read more

  • Battle of Lodi

    The Battle of Lodi was fought on May 10, 1796 between French forces under General Napoleon Bonaparte and an Austrian rear guard led by Karl... Read more

  • The Siege of Mantua

    On June 4, 1796, during the Napoleonic Wars, Mantua was besieged by Napoleon as a move against Austria, who joined the First Coalition. Austrian... Read more

  • Treaty of Leoben

    The Treaty of Leoben (also known as the Peace of Leoben) was signed on 17 April 1797 by Napoleon Bonaparte. It was a preliminary accord that... Read more

  • Coup of 18 fructidor an V

    The Coup of 18 fructidor an V was a seizure of power under the Directory, on 4 September 1797. The three Directors, Barras, Rewbell and La... Read more

  • Treaty of Campo Formio

    The Treaty of Campo Formio or Peace of Campo Formio was signed on 17 October 1797 (26 Vendémiaire, Year VI of the French Republic) by Napoleon... Read more

  • Roman Republic Declared

    The Roman Republic (Italian: Repubblica Romana) was proclaimed on February 15, 1798 after Louis Alexandre Berthier, a general of Napoleon, had... Read more

  • Helvetic Republic Declared

    In Swiss history, the Helvetic Republic (1798–1803) represented an early attempt to impose a central authority over Switzerland, which until then... Read more

  • Law of 22 Floreal Year VI

    The Law of 22 Floréal Year VI (loi du 22 floréal an VI) was a law—arguably constituting a bloodless coup—passed on 11 May 1798 (22 Floréal Year VI... Read more

  • Battle of the Pyramids

    The Battle of the Pyramids, also known as the Battle of Embabeh, was a battle fought on July 21, 1798 between the French army in Egypt under... Read more

  • Battle of the Nile

    The Battle of the Nile (also known as the Battle of Aboukir Bay, or in French as the Bataille d'Aboukir) was a major naval battle fought between... Read more

  • Coup of 30 Prairial Year VII

    The Coup of 30 Prairial Year VII (Coup d'État du 30 prairial an VII), also known as the Revenge of the Councils (revanche des conseils) was a... Read more

  • Battle of Trebbia

    The Battle of Trebbia was fought on June 19, 1799 and resulted in the victory of the Austrians and Russians under Field Marshal Suvorov against the... Read more

  • 18 Brumaire

    The coup of 18 Brumaire (often simply 18 Brumaire or Brumaire) was the coup d'état by which General Napoleon Bonaparte overthrew the French... Read more