David Lean timeline

  • "Oliver Twist" Is Released

    Oliver Twist (1948) is the second of David Lean's two film adaptations of Charles Dickens novels. Following the success of his 1946 version of... Read more

  • 30th Academy Awards

    The 30th Academy Awards was the first time the entire ceremony was broadcast live. The Oscar for Writing Based on Material From Another Medium... Read more

  • "Lawrence Of Arabia" Is Released

    Lawrence of Arabia is a 1962 British epic film based on the life of T. E. Lawrence. It was directed by David Lean and produced by Austrian Sam... Read more

  • 35th Academy Awards

    The 35th Academy Awards, honoring the best in film for 1962, were held on April 8, 1963 at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium in Santa Monica,... Read more

  • "Doctor Zhivago" Is Released

    Doctor Zhivago (Russian: Доктор Живаго) is a 1965 epic or drama-romance-war film directed by David Lean and loosely based on the famous novel of... Read more

  • "A Passage To India" Is Released

    A Passage to India is a 1984 British/American drama film written and directed by David Lean. The screenplay is based on the 1924 novel of the same... Read more