Y.E. Yang wins the 91st PGA Championship

Prior to 2009 the last major played at Hazeltine was the 2002 PGA Championship, the 84th PGA Championship, which was won by Rich Beem.

The 2009 course is notable for having a greater length than any other course to host a major.

Yang Yong-eun, more commonly referred to as Y.E. Yang, won his first major by three strokes over four-time champion Tiger Woods, marking the first time that Woods had failed to win a major he had led after 54 holes. Yang also became the first Asian-born player to win a men's major championship (although the third of Asian descent, after Woods and the Indian Fijian Vijay Singh).