2009 CFDA Fashion Awards

Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center.

This year's Awards were hosted by comedian Tracey Ullman. The honors went to Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte for Womenswear Designer of the Year, presented by Diane Kruger. There was a tie for Menswear Designer of the Year, which was presented by Jimmy Fallon: Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders and Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein Collection. Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler took home the Accessory Designer of the Year Award, presented by Kerry Washington.

First Lady Michelle Obama was honored with the Board of Directors' Special Tribute Award by CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg for her support and commitment to American designers. "The ingenuity and craftsmanship of American designers contributes so much to our economy and to our culture," said Mrs. Obama in a taped message sent from the White House. "To both legends and the future legends, I am honored to celebrate your craft with you tonight. And on behalf of men and women everywhere, I want to thank you all for making fashion liberating, inspiring, but of all, fun."

Blake Lively presented all three Swarovski Awards which were generously underwritten by Swarovski for the eighth year in a row. The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Alexander Wang; The Swarovski Award for Menswear was presented to Tim Hamilton; and The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design went to Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry.

Of the ceremony, CFDA Executive Director Steven Kolb said, "All those recognized at the CFDA Fashion Awards push the creative boundaries and again confirm American fashion's dominance in innovation and talent on the world's stage."

"Swarovski is honored to have been a part of such an incredible evening," said Nadja Swarovski, Vice President of International Communications. "We send our most sincere congratulations to all the honorees and winners. In keeping with Swarovski's commitment to fostering fashion's brightest emerging stars, we are especially thrilled to be working with this year's Swarovski Award winners."

Hello, it's D.V.F. You have no excuse this year, Tracey. Call me back”

— Diane von Furstenberg