Morgan Tsvangirai Is Sworn In As The New Prime Minister Of Zimbabwe

Morgan Richard Tsvangirai born 10 March 1952) is the Prime Minister of Zimbabwe.

He is the President of the Movement for Democratic Change - Tsvangirai (MDC-T) and a key figure in the opposition to President Robert Mugabe. Tsvangirai was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Zimbabwe on 11 February 2009. He sustained non-life threatening injuries in a car crash on 6 March 2009 when heading towards his rural home in Buhera. His wife, Susan Tsvangirai, was killed in the head-on collision accident.

Tsvangirai was the MDC candidate in the controversial 2002 presidential election, losing to Mugabe. He later contested the first round of the 2008 presidential election as the MDC-T candidate, taking 47.8% of the vote according to official results, placing him ahead of Mugabe, who got 43.2%. Tsvangirai claimed to have won a majority and said that the results could have been altered in the month between the election and the reporting of official results. Tsvangirai initially planned to run in the second round against Mugabe, but withdrew shortly before it was held, arguing that the election would not be free and fair due to widespread violence and intimidation by government supporters.

In the wake of the electoral violence and controversy surrounding the 2008 presidential election and later run-off, negotiations between Mugabe's ZANU-PF and rival candidate Morgan Tsvangirai's MDC led to a power-sharing agreement in September 2008, providing for the restoration of the office of Prime Minister. Mr Tsvangirai was sworn into the office of Prime Minister on the 11th February 2009. The post will hold executive powers, but not the full executive powers it held during the 1980s. For instance, the prime minister will chair the council of ministers and is the Deputy Chairperson of Cabinet and also oversees the formulation of government policies by the Cabinet, but the president will remain head of the cabinet. In addition, the prime minister is a member of the National Security Council, chaired by the president and sits alongside the heads of the armed forces, intelligence, prison services and police. According to section 20.1.8 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe (No. 19) Amendment, the Prime Minister, Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers become ex officio members of the House of Assembly without needing to represent parliamentary constituencies, and the party of a constituency-based MP who concurrently serves in any of the above offices holds the right to nominate non-constituency members to such offices.