The Czech Republic Takes Over The Presidency Of The Council Of The European Union From France.

The Czech Republic is a country in Central Europe.

The country borders Poland to the northeast, Germany to the west and northwest, Austria to the south and Slovakia to the east. The capital and largest city is Prague (Czech: Praha). The country is composed of the historic regions of Bohemia and Moravia, as well as parts of Silesia. The Czech Republic has been a member of NATO since 1999 and of the European Union since 2004. From 1 January 2009 to 1 July 2009, the Czech Republic held the Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

The Council does not have a single president in the traditional sense. Rather, the role rotates among the member states every six months (known as the "Presidency"). The minister of the country holding the Presidency has the right to set the agenda. The exception is the Foreign Affairs Council that has (in addition to the national ministers) the High Representative as a member who also chairs the Council when meeting in this configuration. The Council is administered by the Council's Secretary General. However, when a single signature is required to represent the whole Council as institution, it is the rotatory chairman of the General Affairs Council who must affix his own.