Pervez Musharraf Resigns as President of Pakistan

General (ret) Pervez Musharraf (Urdu: پرویز مشرف) (born 11 August 1943), NI(M), TBt, is a Pakistani politician and military figure who served as the 10th President of Pakistan (2001-2008) and the Chief of Army Staff of the Pakistan Army (1998-2007).

He took power on 12 October 1999, following a nonviolent military coup d'état and subsequent ouster of the government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. The military-led government stated its intention to restructure the political, economic and electoral systems. On May 12, 2000, Pakistan's 12 member Supreme Court unanimously validated the October 1999 coup and granted Musharraf executive and legislative authority for 3 years from the coup date endorsing his governance.

On 18 August 2008, Pervez Musharraf resigned from the post of President under impeachment pressure from the coalition government. He was succeeded on 6 September 2008 by Asif Ali Zardari duly elected as Pakistan's 11th President.

Benazir Bhutto (daughter of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto) was Pakistan's first and only female prime minister to date. She served as prime minister twice, from 1988 to 1990 and again from 1993 to 1996. The first time Bhutto became prime minister in 1988, she was removed from office 20 months later by president Ghulam Ishaq Khan on alleged corruption charges. After a successful 1993 re-election, Bhutto served as prime minister for a second time. However, in 1996 she suffered a similar fate as in 1990, this time being removed by president Farooq Leghari for similar corruption charges. In October 2007, she returned to Pakistan after being granted amnesty and being cleared of all corruption charges by President Pervez Musharraf. Bhutto was assassinated at a Pakistan Peoples Party rally on 27 December 2007.