Joe Satriani Releases "Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock"

Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock is the 12th studio album by guitarist Joe Satriani.

The title has Greco-Biblical connotations. The initial part, Professor Satchafunkilus, is an extension of Satriani's nickname, Satch. The second part, in particular, the word "Musterion" is a Greek word meaning "Something which cannot be known until it is revealed" in English this is roughly equivalent to a secret (not "mystery" as it is commonly misinterpreted).

Satriani has recently embarked on a special "Guitar Center Sessions" tour, which began on the release date of the album lasted through to April 11. Following this, Satriani embarked on a worldwide tour, kicking off April 30 in Lisbon, Portugal, before moving to Australia, South America and will finally be returning to the U.S. in the fall of 2008.

Professor Satchafunkilus was produced through the creative envisioning of Satriani and John Cuniberti; guiding the musical talents of longtime drummer/percussionist, Jeff Campitelli and renowned bassist, Matt Bissonette. A special addition to the album’s artist list is Joe’s own son, ZZ Satriani, playing the tenor sax (only at intro of track 4).

In addition to his prior allusions to the science fiction genre in the titles of his tracks, this album has 2 tracks, "Asik Vaysel" and "Andalusia", dedicated to the memory of Aşık Veysel, critically acclaimed figure of the Turkish folk literature. Satriani mixed some songs of Aşık Veysel and made his longest song in the album. Further, Satriani carries on the theme of exploring the humane facet of robots, started with the track "One Robot's Dream", with the track, "I Just Wanna Rock", which is about a robot's experiences at a rock concert.

Track Listing:

All songs written by Joe Satriani.

1. "Musterion" – 4:37
2. "Overdriver" – 5:06
3. "I Just Wanna Rock" – 3:27
4. "Professor Satchafunkilus" – 4:47
5. "Revelation" – 5:57
6. "Come on Baby" – 5:49
7. "Out of the Sunrise" – 5:43
8. "Diddle-Y-A-Doo-Dat" – 4:16
9. "Asik Vaysel" – 7:42
10. "Andalusia" – 6:51