Presidential and Parliamentary Elections are Held in Zimbabwe

A parliamentary election was held in Zimbabwe on March 29, 2008 to elect members to both the House of Assembly and the Senate of the Zimbabwean parliament.

The ruling Zimbabwe African National Union – Patriotic Front (Zanu-PF) lost its majority in the House of Assembly for the first time since independence in 1980, as the two factions of the Movement for Democratic Change won most of the seats; a month after the election, the MDC factions merged. A presidential election was held on the same day as the parliamentary election.

Due to the deaths of three candidates during the election campaign, the elections in those three constituencies were postponed, with by-elections to be held later. One of the candidates in one of the constituencies where the election was deferred has filed a court application; he states that the by-election should have been called within two weeks of the original date. It was announced later that the by-elections would be held together with the second round of the presidential election on 27 June 2008.

The Republic of Zimbabwe held a presidential election along with a parliamentary election on 29 March 2008. The three major candidates were incumbent President Robert Mugabe of the Zimbabwe African National Union - Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF), Morgan Tsvangirai of the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), and Simba Makoni, an independent. As no candidate received an outright majority in the first round, a second round was held on 27 June 2008 between Tsvangirai (with 47.9% of the first round vote) and Mugabe (43.2%). Tsvangirai withdrew from the second round a week before it was scheduled to take place, citing violence against his party's supporters. The second round went ahead, despite widespread criticism, and led to victory for Mugabe.