Kanye West releases his fourth studio album "808s & Heartbreak"

808s & Heartbreak is the fourth studio album by American hip hop artist Kanye West, released November 24, 2008 on Roc-A-Fella Records in the United States.

Recording sessions for the album took place at Glenwood Studios in Burbank, California and Avex Recording Studio in Honolulu, Hawaii during September and October 2008. It was primarily produced by West, Jeff Bhasker, and No I.D.. Conceived in the wake of multiple events that impacted and distressed him during the previous year, 808s & Heartbreak marked a major musical departure for Kanye West from his previous work, lyrically, vocally, and production-wise.

Classified by West as a pop album, 808s & Heartbreak incorporates elements of synthpop, electronica, R&B, and electropop, while its tracks are primarily sung rather than rapped by West and contain lyrical themes such as love, loneliness, and heartache. The album also contains a predominant use of the Auto-Tune voice processor and the Roland TR-808 drum machine, which was utilized and manipulated by West to produce a distorted, electronic sound. Approaching the album's production in a minimalist fashion, West intended to contravene the typical sound of hip hop beat and instead evoke a presence of tribal drums.

Despite a mixed initial reaction from music audiences towards West's stylistic change and singing, the album received generally positive reviews from most music critics upon its release. It was also met by considerable commercial success and served as West's third album to debut at number 1 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart. 808s & Heartbreak became his fourth album to sell 1 million copies in the United States, and on January 27, 2009, it was certified platinum in sales by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).

1. "Say You Will" - 6:17
2. "Welcome to Heartbreak" (featuring Kid Cudi) - 4:23
3. "Heartless" - 3:31
4. "Amazing" (featuring Young Jeezy) - 3:58
5. "Love Lockdown" - 4:30
6. "Paranoid" (featuring Mr Hudson) - 4:37
7. "RoboCop" - 4:34
8. "Street Lights" - 3:09
9. "Bad News" - 3:58
10. "See You in My Nightmares" (featuring Lil Wayne) - 4:18
11. "Coldest Winter" - 2:45
12. "Pinocchio Story" (freestyle live from Singapore, bonus track) - 6:03