Lupe Fiasco, Kanye West and Pharrell Williams form Child Rebel Soldier

Their first single, "Us Placers", appeared on Kanye West's mixtape, "Can't Tell Me Nothing" released in May 2007.

The song "US Placers" was #43 on Rolling Stone's list of the 100 Best Songs of 2007.

On January 29, 2008, it was announced on Kanye West's blog that the three artists would be touring together. The "Glow in the Dark Tour" consisted of Kanye West, Rihanna, Lupe Fiasco and N*E*R*D.

According to an interview on with Lupe Fiasco, there are plans for a CRS album in late 2009. He said the trio of CRS would have three different elements to it: an album, music videos, and a third element he failed to elaborate on (speculation that what he was referring to at this point was the then unannounced "Glow in the Dark" Tour). The album is tentatively titled 'God Unwilling'.

The group was featured on the remix to "Everyone Nose" by N.E.R.D. They were labeled as Child Rebel Soldier on the song instead of their separate entities. This is the second song where they use their group name. The official video for "Everyone Nose Remix" was posted on Kanye West's blog on August 7, 2008. The video directed by Hype Williams features CRS and Pusha T of Clipse. Behind them is a green screen showing scenes from various 8-bit (1st generation) video games (Donkey Kong, Galaga, Space Invaders).