Padraig Harrington wins the 136th Open Championship

Pádraig Harrington defeated Sergio García in a playoff to take the title.

156 players participated in this year's Championship. The purse was £4,200,000 (an increase of £200,000 over 2006), and the winner received £750,000 (an increase of £30,000 over 2006).[1] Using conversion rates at the time of the tournament, the purse was €6,158,474 for the European Tour's Order of Merit rankings and $8,637,720 for the PGA Tour's money list.