Katharine McPhee Releases 'Katharine McPhee' the Album

The album's release date changed on many occasions, originally set for November 14, then November 28, then December 5, then December 19, and eventually, — at McPhee's insistence — January 30, and sold 116,000 copies in its first week debuting at #2 on the Billboard top 200 albums. The album was released by RCA Records in association with 19 Recordings Limited. The album contains 12 songs, three of which McPhee co-wrote.

The album includes writing and production contributions from Babyface, The Underdogs, Kara DioGuardi, and Nate “Danja” Hills. It was also said that Ryan Leslie contributed to the album. However, none of the songs written or produced by him made the track listing. McPhee has described the album as rhythm pop, taking a different route from the traditional pop ballads she sang on American Idol.

On December 19, 2006, RCA Records released "I Lost You/Dangerous" as a single for a Wal-Mart exclusive. "I Lost You" was cut from the final album tracklisting.

On January 2, 2007 the first single, "Over It", and three snippets, "Each Other"; "Love Story"; and "Open Toes", were released on AOL Music: First Listen. Also accompanied were photos, quotes from the credited artist, and fan polls. McPhee was reportedly quoted on AOL Music for describing the first single, "it's a term that everyone uses, especially young girls. I didn't even realize just how much I used it. A lot of people will be able to relate to this song. This is really the only pure pop song on the record, so I thought it would be a good first single."