Dream Theater releases Octavarium

Octavarium is the eighth full-length Dream Theater studio album, released on June 7, 2005.

It holds the distinction of being the last album ever recorded at The Hit Factory in New York City. According to the DVD Documentary in Score, John Petrucci considered this album to be the band's best work to that point.

Octavarium follows a pattern started in Dream Theater's sixth studio album, Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence, which had six songs (and also the word "six" in the title). The next album, Train of Thought, was the band's seventh studio album and contained 7 tracks. Octavarium, the band's eighth studio album, has eight songs (and a title related to the number eight). The pattern was discontinued with the band's ninth studio album, Systematic Chaos, which has only eight tracks (two of which are separate parts to the same song, "In the Presence of Enemies").

"Panic Attack" is featured as a playable song in Rock Band 2.

Album information:

Atlantic (83793-2)
USA 2005

James LaBrie, vocals; John Myung, bass; John Petrucci, guitars, vocals; Mike Portnoy, drums, percussion, vocals; Jordan Rudess, keyboards

1. The Root of All Evil — 8:25
2. The Answer Lies Within — 5:33
3. These Walls — 7:36
4. I Walk Beside You — 4:29
5. Panic Attack — 8:13
6. Never Enough — 6:46
7. Sacrificed Sons — 10:42
8. Octavarium — 24:00

total time 75:46