Coldplay releases third studio album "X&Y"

X&Y is the third studio album by English alternative rock band Coldplay, released 6 June 2005 in the United Kingdom via the record label Parlophone.

The album, which features influences of electronic music, was produced by the band and British record producer Danton Supple. British record producer Ken Nelson was supposed to produce much of the album, however, many songs written during their sessions were ditched due to the band's dissatisfaction. The album's cover art is a combination of colours and blocks, which is a representation of the Baudot code.

The album has been considered a landmark achievement of the band, topping many charts worldwide, including the United Kingdom and United States, the latter being their first. With accumulated sales of over 10 million units, X&Y is the best-selling album released in 2005 worldwide. Reviews for X&Y were mostly positive, but critics of the album felt it did not quite meet the standards of its predecessor, A Rush of Blood to the Head (2002). The album has spawned the singles "Speed of Sound", "Fix You", "Talk", "The Hardest Part", "What If", and "White Shadows".

1. "Square One" – 4:47
2. "What If" – 4:57
3. "White Shadows" – 5:28
4. "Fix You" – 4:54
5. "Talk" (Berryman, Buckland, Champion, Martin, Hütter, Bartos, Schult) – 5:11
6. "X&Y" – 4:34
7. "Speed of Sound" – 4:48
8. "A Message" – 4:45
9. "Low" – 5:32
10. "The Hardest Part" – 4:25
11. "Swallowed in the Sea" – 3:58
12. "Twisted Logic" – 5:01
13. "'Til Kingdom Come" – 4:12 (hidden track)