Destiny's Child releases "Soldier" single

"Soldier" is an R&B/hip hop song written by Beyoncé Knowles, Kelly Rowland, Michelle Williams, Rich Harrison, Sean Garrett, T.I., and Lil Wayne for Destiny's Child's fourth studio album, Destiny Fulfilled (2004). It was produced by Knowles and Harrison and released as the album's second single in fall 2004. The song peaked at number 1 in Canada and Denmark and number 3 in the United States, where it became the group's ninth and final consecutive top hit, number 4 in the UK, which makes T.I.'s & Lil Wayne's first top 5 hit in the UK and peaked within the top 5 in New Zealand, Denmark, Ireland, Israel, Finland, Italy, Greece and Switzerland. The song also was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration category and won the group a Soul Train Lady of Soul Award for Best R&B/Soul Single by a Group, Band or Duo. The was sampled for "Grillz" by Nelly, Paul Wall, and Ali & Gipp. This was also sampled for the song "Body Marked Up" by Willy Northpole.

"Soldier" was performed by Beyoncé on the Beyoncé Experience tour. It was performed as a remix in a Destiny's Child medley. The remix contained a sample of the Soulja Boy Tell 'Em's "Crank That (Soulja Boy)."

A pregnant Solange Knowles, Beyoncé's sister, Lloyd, Bow Wow, Ginuwine, rapper Ice Cube and WC made cameo appearances in the music video, which was filmed by Norwegian director Ray Kay and was nominated at the 2005 MTV Video Music Awards under the category of Best Group Video.

Soldier, Pt. 1

1. Soldier (Album Version)
2. Soldier (Maurice's Nu Soul Mix)
3. Soldier (Maurice's Nu Beat Mix)
4. Soldier (Danny Howells & Dick Trevor's Kinkyfunk Mix)
5. Lose My Breath (Peter Rauhofer's Breathless Club Mix)

Soldier, Pt. 2

1. Soldier (Radio Edit)
2. Soldier (Maurice's Nu Anthem Mix)
3. Soldier (Danny Howells & Dick Trevor's Kinkyfunk Mix)
4. Soldier (JS Remix)
5. Soldier (Promitonal SHRT Form Video)