Deep Purple release Bananas

Bananas is the 17th studio album by English rock band Deep Purple,[2] released on October 7, 2003.[3] It includes "Contact Lost", a short, slow instrumental about the Columbia astronauts, written by guitarist Steve Morse when he heard the sad news of the crash.[4]

This is the first Deep Purple album to feature Don Airey on the keyboards, replacing founding member Jon Lord. The album was recorded in Los Angeles during January and February 2003.

It is also notable as being the only Deep Purple album that features Ian Gillan being backed by vocals other than his own, with the song "Haunted" featuring a female backing singer, Beth Hart.