Jim Furyk wins the 103rd U.S. Open

The tournament was won by Jim Furyk, for whom it was his first (and as of 2009, only) major championship win.

In doing so he tied for the record lowest 72-hole score in U.S. Open history. Another record was set by Vijay Singh, who tied Neal Lancaster's 9-hole standard of 29 on the back nine of his second round.