Jay-Z releases eighth studio album "The Black Album"

The Black Album is the eighth studio album by American rapper Jay-Z, released November 14, 2003 on Roc-A-Fella Records.

It was promoted as his final studio album, although Jay-Z subsequently announced a return to solo recording in 2006. The album was very well received by critics and was also a commercial success, debuting at #1 with nearly 463,000 copies sold in its first week and over 3 million to date. The black disc is accompanied by a black-covered set of liner notes and a black jewel case.

The album features a guest appearance by Pharrell (in "Change Clothes") and Jay-Z's mother, who speaks about his childhood in different portions of "December 4th". An a cappella-only version of The Black Album featuring these performances was also released.

1 "Interlude" 1:22
2 "December 4th" 4:34
3 "What More Can I Say" 4:55
4 "Encore" 4:11
5 "Change Clothes" 4:18
6 "Dirt Off Your Shoulder" 4:05
7 "Threat" 4:07
8 "Moment of Clarity" 4:24
9 "99 Problems" 3:55
10 "Public Service Announcement" 2:53
11 "Justify My Thug" 4:04
12 "Lucifer" 3:12
13 "Allure" 4:53
14 "My 1st Song" 4:45