Coldplay releases "A Rush of Blood to the Head"

A Rush of Blood to the Head is the second studio album by English alternative rock band Coldplay, released on 26 August 2002 in the United Kingdom by record label Parlophone.

Produced by the band and British record producer Ken Nelson, the recording of the album began a week after the September 11 attacks in the United States, which gave the band a fresh perspective on songwriting. The songs featured in the album have a greater use of piano and guitar than Coldplay's debut album, Parachutes. In 2003, it was ranked number 473 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

The album was a commercial success, debuting at number one in the United Kingdom and later placing at number seven of the country's 20 biggest-selling albums in the 21st century. The British Phonographic Industry has since certified the album eight-times platinum for its accumulated sales of over 2.6 million units in Britain and around 13 million worldwide. The album has spawned the hit singles "In My Place", "The Scientist", "Clocks", and "God Put a Smile upon Your Face". A Rush of Blood to the Head has been praised by critics, considering it better than Parachutes. It won the 2003 Grammy for Best Alternative Album for the second time in a row, successive to their previous win in the same category and the 2004 Grammy for Record of the Year for the song "Clocks".

1. "Politik" – 5:18
2. "In My Place" – 3:48
3. "God Put a Smile upon Your Face" – 4:57
4. "The Scientist" – 5:09
5. "Clocks" – 5:07
6. "Daylight" – 5:27
7. "Green Eyes" – 3:43
8. "Warning Sign" – 5:31
9. "A Whisper" – 3:58
10. "A Rush of Blood to the Head" – 5:51
11. "Amsterdam" – 5:19