Weezer release self-titled third album

Weezer, also known as "The Green Album" due to the lime-green cover, is the third studio album by American alternative rock band Weezer, released on May 15, 2001.

Produced by Ric Ocasek, it was the band's third studio album released on Geffen Records. This is the first, and only Weezer album to feature bassist Mikey Welsh, who replaced long-time member Matt Sharp. The musical style of Weezer is grounded in the power pop genre, featuring strong melodies, crisp vocal harmonies, and prominent guitar riffs.

Weezer received generally favourable reviews. The album is often recognized as a rebirth for the band after a long hiatus following their 1996 album, Pinkerton. The album attained chart success by debuting at number four in the US and number two in Canada. The album also charted within the top ten in Norway and Sweden. Since its release in 2001, the album has sold over one million copies in the United States.

Three singles were released from the album including "Hash Pipe", "Island in the Sun", and "Photograph". The first single, "Hash Pipe", was a worldwide modern rock hit, charting on seven different charts, despite their record label's reluctance to release it as first single.