Nelson Mandela became first living honorary Canadian citizen

Nelson Mandela will become an honorary Canadian citizen Monday, making it the first time in history the distinction has been given to a living person.

BACKGROUNDER: Nelson Mandela
The former president of South Africa will receive the honour from Prime Minister Jean Chrétien during a ceremony at Ottawa's Museum of Civilization Monday morning.

Parliament passed the motion on June 7, in recognition of his "great moral leadership to South Africa and to all humanity."
Mandela, 83, who won a Nobel Prize in 1993, spent 27 years in prison before winning the country's first democratic election.

In 2001, he was the first living person to be made an honorary Canadian citizen (the only previous recipient, Raoul Wallenberg, was awarded honorary citizenship posthumously).[160] While in Canada, he was also made an honorary Companion of the Order of Canada, one of the few foreigners to receive the honour.

Honorary Canadian citizenship (French: Citoyenneté canadienne honoraire) is an honour wherein Canadian citizenship is bestowed by the Governor General of Canada,[1] with the approval of parliament,[2] on foreigners of exceptional merit. It is a symbolic honour; the recipient does not take the Oath of Citizenship, and thus does not receive any rights, privileges or duties typically held by a Canadian citizen.[2]
As of 2009, five people have had this honour bestowed upon them:
Raoul Wallenberg, Swedish diplomat and Holocaust hero, awarded posthumously in 1985. [3]
Nelson Mandela, Anti-apartheid activist, former president of South Africa and recipient of the 1993 Nobel Peace Prize, awarded in 2001.[4]
Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama and recipient of the 1989 Nobel Peace Prize, awarded in 2006.[5]
Aung San Suu Kyi, Prime Minister-elect of Burma and recipient of the 1991 Nobel Peace Prize, awarded in 2007.[6]
His Highness the Aga Khan, awarded in 2009.[7]