Coldplay releases first full-length album, "Parachutes"

Parachutes is the debut album by English alternative rock band Coldplay, released by the record label Parlophone on 10 July 2000 in the United Kingdom.

The album was produced by the band and British record producer Ken Nelson, excluding one track which was produced by Chris Allison. Parachutes has spawned the hit singles "Shiver", "Yellow", "Trouble".

The album was generally both a critical and commercial success. Upon release, the album quickly reached number one in the United Kingdom, and has since been certified seven-time platinum. In the United States, the album peaked at number 51 on the Billboard 200, and has since been certified two-time platinum. It won the Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album in 2002, and has earned the band various accolades since its release. Parachutes is number 12 on the list of the 20 biggest-selling albums of the 21st century in the United Kingdom.

The album won Best British Album at the 2001 Brit Awards.

1. "Don't Panic" – 2:17
2. "Shiver" – 4:59
3. "Spies" – 5:18
4. "Sparks" – 3:47
5. "Yellow" – 4:29
6. "Trouble" – 4:30
7. "Parachutes" – 0:46
8. "High Speed" – 4:14
9. "We Never Change" – 4:09
10. "Everything's Not Lost" – 7:15
* "Life Is for Living" – 1:36 (hidden song starting at 5:39)