Kiss releases Psycho Circus

Psycho Circus is a 1998 studio album by the American hard rock band Kiss.

This album featured the original four members back together and in full make up. Bruce Kulick and Eric Singer stepped aside to allow the return of Peter Criss and Ace Frehley.

The album features a lenticular cover that alternates between a black Kiss logo and the album title with pictures of a clown and the band members.

Following Kiss' highly successful 1996-1997 reunion tour, Psycho Circus was touted as the first studio album by the band's original lineup since 1979's Dynasty (as Peter Criss did not participate on 1980's Unmasked). As with Dynasty and Unmasked, however, many of the songs were recorded by uncredited players. It is now known that guitarist Ace Frehley and drummer Peter Criss were used sparingly, with Criss only playing drums on "Into the Void." (He had also played on only one Dynasty track.) Frehley played on only three songs from the album (not including vocals). In a radio interview with Eddie Trunk following his departure Criss stated that only "Into The Void" featured instrumental contributions from all four members.