XVIII Olympic Winter Games Held in Nagano, Japan

The 1998 Winter Olympics, officially known as the XVIII Olympic Winter Games, were a winter multi-sport event which was celebrated in 1998 in Nagano, Japan.

These Games marked the return of the Winter Olympics to Japan since 1972, when the games were held in Sapporo.

72 nations participated in the 1998 Winter Olympic Games. The nations Azerbaijan, Kenya, FYR of Macedonia, Uruguay, and Venezuela participated in their first Winter Olympic Games.