Jay-Z releases second studio album "In My Lifetime, Vol. 1"

In My Lifetime, Vol. 1 is the second studio album by American rapper Jay-Z, released on November 4, 1997.

The album received positive reviews from critics but fans were not embracing Jay-Z's commercialized new image. The album features a much more pop oriented sound than his debut release Reasonable Doubt and went on to receive a Platinum certification from the RIAA, selling more than 1.2 million copies in the U.S.

Producers for Reasonable Doubt such as DJ Premier and Ski contribute to a limited number of beats on this album, though the majority of the production is handled by beatmakers from Puff Daddy's Bad Boy label, giving the album a generally glossier sound than its predecessor. It displayed a shift from the mafioso rap themes of his first effort to the so called "jiggy" era of late 90's hip-hop, often credited to videos and albums from Puff Daddy and his Bad Boy record label's roster of artists including Notorious B.I.G. (the first two singles from his second album were both huge pop hits) and Mase.

1. "Intro: A Million and One Questions/Rhyme No More" 3:21
2. "The City Is Mine" (feat. Blackstreet) 4:02
3. "I Know What Girls Like" (feat. Lil' Kim & Puff Daddy) 4:50
4. "Imaginary Player" 3:57
5. "Streets Is Watching" 3:58
6. "Friend or Foe '98" 2:09
7. "Lucky Me" 4:59
8. "(Always Be My) Sunshine" (feat. Foxy Brown & Babyface) 4:43
9. "Who You Wit II" 4:29
10. "Face Off" (feat. Sauce Money) 3:31
11. "Real Niggaz" (feat. Too Short) 5:07
12. "Rap Game/Crack Game" 2:40
13. "Where I'm From" 4:26
14. "You Must Love Me"(feat. Kelly Price) 5:47