Edmonton Oilers won Stanley Cup

The 1988 Stanley Cup Finals was between the Edmonton Oilers and Boston Bruins.

The Oilers would win the series 4–0 in five games. Game four was abandoned due to technical problems at the Boston Garden with the score tied 3–3 and replayed.

Edmonton defeated the Winnipeg Jets 4–1, the Calgary Flames 4–0 and the Detroit Red Wings 4–1 to reach the Finals. Boston defeated the Buffalo Sabres 4–2, the Montreal Canadiens 4–1 and the New Jersey Devils 4–3 to reach the Finals.

The Finals pitted the Oilers' offensive juggernaut against the Bruins' more balanced team. The Oilers showed their defensive prowess, surrendering just 9 goals in the four completed games. Ray Bourque was physical in defending against Gretzky, but that wouldn't ground the Great One on his way to claiming his second Conn Smythe Trophy and setting playoff records with 31 assists in just 18 games, and 13 points in the Finals series.

Game four
Fog interfered with the game and a power outage caused its cancellation.
Glenn Anderson set a new record for quickest goal from the start of a Finals playoff Series game when he scored 10 seconds into the contest. Despite the game being suspended and replayed, the record was, and is, official. That record was tied two years later in the third game of the 1990 Final by John Byce playing for, in a twist, the Bruins, against the Oilers.[1]
Boston Bruins vs. Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton Oilers made quick work of the Boston Bruins capturing their fourth Stanley Cup in five years. Edmonton only lost two games due to the stellar play of Vezina-winner Grant Fuhr and the unbelievable 43 points from the great Wayne Gretzky. This would be Gretzky's last season as an Oiler, as he would be traded to the Kings in the off-season. In a rare occurrence, game four of the Stanley Cup Finals ended in a tie. The game was suspended at 16:37 of the second period due to a power failure in the Boston Arena. As NHL rules stated, the game was suspended at a 3-3 tie. The series shifted back to Edmonton where the Oilers won the deciding game 6-3. Gretzky was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy after amassing 43 playoff points.