"Heavy Nova" Is Released

Heavy Nova is a 1988 album by Robert Palmer.

It followed his very popular album Riptide. Heavy Nova continued his popularity with the single, "Simply Irresistible", which spent three weeks at #1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart in the U.S. The name Heavy Nova derives from Palmer's love of both heavy metal and bossa nova rhythms.

The album was recorded at Logic Studios (Milan, Italy) and Compass Point Studios (Bahamas).

All songs by Robert Palmer except where noted.

1. "Simply Irresistible" – 4:14
2. "More Than Ever" – 3:25
3. "Change His Ways" – 2:56
4. "Disturbing Behaviour" – 3:45
5. "Early in the Morning" (Lonnie Simmons, Rudy Taylor, Charlie Wilson) – 4:42
6. "It Could Happen to You" (Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 2:32
7. "She Makes My Day" – 4:23
8. "Between Us" – 4:49
9. "Casting a Spell" – 3:57
10. "Tell Me I'm Not Dreaming" (Jay Gruska, Michael Omartian, Bruce Sudano) – 3:46

Robert Allen Palmer (19 January 1949 – 26 September 2003), born in Batley, Yorkshire, was an English singer-songwriter. He was known for his soulful voice and the eclectic mix of musical styles on his albums, combining soul, jazz, rock, pop and blues.