Death releases Leprosy

Leprosy is the second album by death metal band Death, released in 1988.

Notably different in tone and quality from the 1987 debut, it is the first example of Scott Burns' work heard on many of the death metal and grindcore albums of that era. The cover is featured in Metal: A Headbanger's Journey.

The title track "Leprosy" was covered by the blackened death metal band Akercocke on their 2007 album Antichrist. Dutch melodic death metal band Callenish Circle covered "Pull the Plug" as a bonus on their Flesh Power Dominion album. Finnish thrash metal band Mokoma covered the track "Open Casket", with lyrics in Finnish and titled "Avoin Hauta", on their EP "Viides Vuodenaika".

In a Death Metal special by the German "Rock Hard" Magazine, Leprosy was voted the no. 1 of the 25 most important Death Metal albums of all time.