U2 releases "Rattle and Hum" album

The album, which was made following the band's 1987 Joshua Tree Tour, is a mix of live recordings, covers, and new songs.

To a greater extent than their previous album, The Joshua Tree, the band play roots rock, blues-rock, folk rock, and country music.

The album opens with a live cover of The Beatles' "Helter Skelter." Its inclusion on the album was intended by the band to reflect the confusion of The Joshua Tree Tour and their new found superstar status. Bono's introduction of the song—"this song Charles Manson stole from The Beatles...we're stealing it back"—was interpreted as U2 claiming to be the new Beatles.

1. "Helter Skelter" (Live) Lennon/McCartney U2 3:07
2. "Van Diemen's Land" The Edge U2 3:05
3. "Desire" U2 U2 2:59
4. "Hawkmoon 269" U2 U2 6:22
5. "All Along the Watchtower" (Live) Bob Dylan U2 4:24
6. "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking
For" (Live) U2 U2 5:53
7. "Freedom for My People" Adam Gussow and Sterling Magee Satan and Adam 0:38
8. "Silver and Gold" (Live) Bono U2 5:49
9. "Pride (In the Name of Love)" (Live) U2 U2 4:27
10. "Angel of Harlem" U2 U2 3:49
11. "Love Rescue Me" U2 U2 with Bob Dylan 6:24
12. "When Love Comes to Town" U2 U2 with B. B. King 4:15
13. "Heartland" U2 U2 5:03
14. "God Part II" U2 U2 3:15
15. "The Star Spangled Banner" (Live) John Stafford Smith Jimi Hendrix 0:43
16. "Bullet the Blue Sky" (Live) U2 U2 5:36
17. "All I Want Is You" U2 U2 6:30