Aerosmith releases Permanent Vacation

Permanent Vacation is the ninth studio album by American hard rock band Aerosmith, released in 1987.

The album marks a turning point in the band's career. It is their first album to employ professional songwriters, instead of featuring material solely composed by members of the band. It was also the first Aerosmith album to be promoted by heavy music video airplay on MTV. Though Done With Mirrors was intended to mark Aerosmith's comeback, Permanent Vacation is often considered their true comeback album, as it was the band's first truly popular album since their reunion. "Rag Doll," "Dude (Looks Like a Lady)" and "Angel" all became major hit singles (all three songs charted in the Top 20) and helped Permanent Vacation become the band's most successful album in a decade.

# Title Music Length
1. "Heart's Done Time" Joe Perry, Desmond Child 4:42
2. "Magic Touch" Steven Tyler, Perry, Jim Vallance 4:40
3. "Rag Doll" Tyler, Perry, Vallance, Holly Knight 4:21
4. "Simoriah" Tyler, Perry, Vallance 3:21
5. "Dude (Looks Like a Lady)" Tyler, Perry, Child 4:23
6. "St. John" Tyler 4:12
7. "Hangman Jury" Tyler, Perry, Vallance 5:33
8. "Girl Keeps Coming Apart" Tyler, Perry 4:12
9. "Angel" Tyler, Child 5:10
10. "Permanent Vacation" Tyler, Brad Whitford 4:52
11. "I'm Down" John Lennon, Paul McCartney 2:20
12. "The Movie" (instrumental) Tyler, Perry, Whitford, Tom Hamilton, Joey Kramer