Eric Johnson Releases "Tones"

Tones was Eric Johnson's second solo album.

It was released in 1986 by Reprise Records. Two of the tracks are re-recordings of songs from the (at that time) unreleased album Seven Worlds.

The song "Zap" was so named because Eric thought the piece resembled the style of Frank Zappa.

The song "Trail Of Tears" is dedicated to the forced relocation and movement of Native Americans from their homelands to Indian Territory (present day Oklahoma) in the Western United States.

Track Listing:

All songs written by Eric Johnson except where noted.

1. "Soulful Terrain" – 4:15
2. "Friends" – 5:35
3. "Emerald Eyes" (Johnson, Jay Aaron) – 3:22
4. "Off My Mind" – 3:59
5. "Desert Song" – 4:19
6. "Trail of Tears" (Johnson, Carla Olsen, Stephen Barber) – 6:02
7. "Bristol Shore" – 6:39
8. "Zap" – 4:42
9. "Victory" (Johnson, Roscoe Beck, Tommy Taylor) – 6:38