The Breakfast Club is released

The Breakfast Club is a 1985 American teen film written and directed by John Hughes.

The storyline follows five teenagers (each representing a different clique in high school) as they spend a Saturday in detention together and come to realize that they are all deeper than their respective stereotypes. The film has become a cult classic and has had a tremendous influence on many coming-of-age films since then. The film was shot entirely in sequence. Shooting began on March 28, 1984 and ended in May, 1984.

In 2005 MTV announced that the film would be rewarded with the Silver Bucket of Excellence Award in honor of its 20th anniversary at the MTV Movie Awards. To coincide with the event, MTV attempted to reunite the original cast. Sheedy, Ringwald and Hall appeared together on stage, with Kapelos in the audience; Gleason personally gave the award to his former castmates. Estevez could not attend the reunion because of other commitments, and Nelson appeared earlier in the show but left before the on-stage reunion for reasons unknown, prompting Hall to joke that the two were "in Africa with Dave Chappelle." Pop-punk band Yellowcard performed a version of the movie's anthem, "Don't You Forget About Me."

Directed by John Hughes

Produced by John Hughes, Michelle Manning, Ned Tanen

Written by John Hughes

Starring Emilio Estevez, Paul Gleason, Anthony Michael Hall, John Kapelos, Judd Nelson, Molly Ringwald, Ally Sheedy

Music by Keith Forsey

Editing by Carol Littleton

Distributed by Universal Studios

Release date February 15, 1985

Running time 97 minutes

Box office $45,875,171