Theodor Seuss Geisel is Awarded a Special Citation in Letters From the Pulitzer Prize Committee

Although there was no Fiction prize in 1957, the Pulitzer judges that year gave an honorary award to Kenneth Roberts for his historical novels written between 1930 and 1956.

Only one other conventional novelist has won such a "special award or citation," as the organization calls them: Ray Bradbury (The Martian Chronicles, Fahrenheit 451) was honored in 2007 "for his distinguished, prolific and deeply influential career as an unmatched author of science fiction and fantasy." (That year, Cormac McCarthy's The Road, a vaguely sci-fi novel, won the Fiction prize.) The artist/writer Art Spiegelman received a special citation in 1992 for his graphic novel Maus, and Theodor Seuss Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, received one in 1984 "for his special contribution over nearly half a century to the education and enjoyment of America's children and their parents."

He may have become a household name in the 1950's, but Dr. Seuss published his first children’s book, And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, in 1937, after 27 publishers rejected it. He later went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1984, an Academy Award, three Emmy Awards, three Grammy Awards, and three Caldecott Honors. In total, he wrote and illustrated 44 books.