Judas Priest release Point of Entry

Point of Entry is the seventh album from the British heavy metal band Judas Priest.

It was released on 26 February 1981.

In 1980 Judas Priest garnered some airplay with "Breaking the Law" and "Living After Midnight" from their album British Steel. As a result the band pursued a more radio friendly direction on Point of Entry.

In the booklet of the Remastered CD, the band states:

"Recorded on the island of Ibiza with Multiple Distractions, glorious sunshine, and extremely lost cost alcohol, this album was regarded with mixed feelings because it was different from what people expected. The album was nearly all spontaneously written and performed in Ibiza - it was an experiment in the sense that before this we had already written the majority of the songs before going into the studio."

Three singles were released from the album: "Heading Out to the Highway", "Don't Go" and "Hot Rockin' ", all of which had accompanying music videos. The band performed "Heading Out to the Highway" up until their Priest...Live! album, and "Hot Rockin' " is still performed today. On the 2005 "Re-united" tour they also played "Solar Angels" on rare occasions: on the Point Of Entry tour, this was the opening song on every show.

The album was remastered in 2001, with two bonus tracks added, a live version of "Desert Plains" and "Thunder Road", a track from the Ram It Down sessions.

The US cover differed from the rest of the world, this being repeated with the remaster. The US artwork featured computer printer paper to simulate the line in the middle of the road, and white cardboard boxes on the back.

The World Wide Blitz Tour was the tour supporting the album.