Ozzy Osbourne Releases "Diary of a Madman"

Diary of a Madman is an album by Ozzy Osbourne.

It was recorded from the 9th of Feb to the 23 of March 1981 inclusively - the end of winter in the UK and recording ending just into spring equinox. It was released on November 7, 1981, and re-issued on August 22, 1995. An altered version appeared in 2002. This is the last album with Randy Rhoads before his death in 1982. Although bassist Rudy Sarzo and drummer Tommy Aldridge are credited in the liner notes and pictured on the inner sleeve, it was bassist Bob Daisley and drummer Lee Kerslake who performed all bass and drum parts on the original release. They were not given credit for their contributions. According to a 2005 interview with Daisley, even though Don Airey is credited for having played keyboards on this record, it was in fact a musician named Johnny Cook who recorded the keyboard parts, as Airey was unavailable at the time. The album features several songs with acoustic intros, including "You Can't Kill Rock and Roll", "S.A.T.O.", "Tonight", and the title track.

Track Listing:

All songs written by Ozzy Osbourne, Randy Rhoads, Bob Daisley, and Lee Kerslake except where noted

Side one
"Over the Mountain" – 4:31
"Flying High Again" – 4:44
"You Can't Kill Rock and Roll" (Osbourne, Rhoads, Daisley) – 6:59
"Believer" (Osbourne, Rhoads, Daisley) – 5:17

Side two
"Little Dolls" – 5:38
"Tonight" – 5:50
"S.A.T.O." – 4:07
"Diary of a Madman" – 6:14

Bonus Track (2002 Remaster)
"I Don't Know (Live)" (Osbourne, Rhoads, Daisley) – 4:56