U2 releases second studio album, "October"

I remember the pressure it was made under, I remember writing lyrics on the microphone, and at £50 an hour that's quite a pressure. Lillywhite was pacing up and down the studio... he coped really well. And the ironic thing about October is that there's a sort of peace about the album, even though it was recorded under that pressure. A lot of people found October hard to accept at first, I mean, I used the word 'rejoice' precisely because I knew people have a mental block against it. It's a powerful word, it's lovely to say. It's implying more than 'get up and dance, baby.' I think October goes into areas that most rock 'n' roll bands ignore. When I listen to the album, something like 'Tomorrow,' it actually moves me.”

— Bono on the challenges encountered recording October after a briefcase full of lyrics was stolen

October is the second album by Irish rock band U2, released in 1981. The album featured spiritual themes, inspired by Bono, The Edge, and Larry Mullen, Jr.'s memberships in a Christian group called the "Shalom Fellowship", which led them to question the relationship between the Christian faith and the rock and roll lifestyle. The album received mixed reviews and limited radio play.

1. "Gloria" 4:14
2. "I Fall Down" 3:39
3. "I Threw a Brick Through a Window" 4:54
4. "Rejoice" 3:37
5. "Fire" 3:51
6. "Tomorrow" 4:39
7. "October" 2:21
8. "With a Shout" 4:02
9. "Stranger in a Strange Land" 3:56
10. "Scarlet" 2:53
11. "Is That All?" 2:59