Indiana Beats Michigan in Final Four

The 1976 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament involved 32 schools playing in single-elimination play to determine the national champion of men's NCAA Division I college basketball.

It began on March 13, 1976, and ended with the championship game on March 29 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. A total of 32 games were played, including a national third place game.
Indiana, coached by Bob Knight, won the national title with a 86–68 victory in the final game over Michigan, coached by Johnny Orr. Kent Benson of Indiana was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.
Notably, this was the first time that two teams from the same conference (the Big Ten) played in the title game. Also, this was the last men's Division I tournament to date to feature two unbeaten teams, as both Indiana and Rutgers entered the tournament unbeaten. Both advanced to the Final Four, with Indiana winning the title and Rutgers losing to Michigan in the semifinals and UCLA in the third-place game.

Indiana, 31–1 in 1975, came back a year later to go 32–0, routing Michigan in the first NCAA final between members of the same conference. Kent Benson was the tourney MVP, but the Hoosiers also had Player of the Year Scott May, Quinn Buckner and Bobby Wilkerson—all of whom would eventually be first round picks in the NBA draft.