Stevie Wonder Releases Music of My Mind

Music of My Mind is a landmark album by Stevie Wonder, released on March 3, 1972 (see 1972 in music). It was the first of five consecutive albums widely hailed as his "classic period", along with Talking Book, Innervisions, Fulfillingness' First Finale, and Songs in the Key of Life. Music of My Mind showcases Wonder's earlier experiments with the synthesizer, and is a more assured recording than Where I'm Coming From (his first effort while holding the majority of artistic control). Also on display were his increasing musical ambitions, with him leveraging different genres of music and utilizing longer song forms. Stevie used synthesizers to do all musical parts on this album. He also played drums as he frequently does on all of his albums.

Side One

1. "Love Having You Around" (Wonder, Syreeta Wright) – 7:23
2. "Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You)" (Wonder) – 8:07
3. "I Love Every Little Thing About You" (Wonder) – 3:55
4. "Sweet Little Girl" (Wonder) – 4:59

Side Two

1. "Happier Than the Morning Sun" (Wonder) – 5:18
2. "Girl Blue" (Wonder, Yvonne Wright) – 3:36
3. "Seems So Long" (Wonder) – 4:22
4. "Keep on Running" (Wonder) – 6:40
5. "Evil" (Wonder, Y. Wright) – 3:33