UCLA Beats Jacksonville in the Final Four

The 1970 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament involved 25 schools playing in single-elimination play to determine the national champion of men's NCAA Division I college basketball.

It began on March 7, 1970, and ended with the championship game on March 21 in College Park, Maryland. A total of 29 games were played, including a third place game in each region and a national third place game.
UCLA, coached by John Wooden, won the national title with a 80-69 victory in the final game over Jacksonville, coached by Joe Williams. Sidney Wicks of UCLA was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

Meanwhile, back at the NCAAs, UCLA became the first team to win four consecutive titles. Lew Alcindor was gone, but John Wooden dusted off the zone press and the Bruins wrapped up the season beating 7-2 Artis Gilmore and high-scoring Jacksonville (100.3 ppg), 80–69.