Bob Goalby wins the 32nd Masters Tournament

Bob Goalby scored birdies on Nos. 13 and 14, and an eagle on No. 15 to record a final round 66. It appeared he and Roberto DeVicenzo would hold a playoff, but DeVicenzo returned an incorrect scorecard showing a 4 on No. 17 instead of a birdie 3.

At the end of the day, De Vicenzo was tied with Bob Goalby. The two should have returned on Monday for an 18-hole playoff.
Except that De Vicenzo's final-round playing partner, Tommy Aaron, had made a mistake on De Vicenzo's scorecard. Aaron gave De Vicenzo a par (4) on the 17th hole rather than the birdie (3) De Vicenzo had actually made.

And De Vicenzo failed to catch the error. When he signed the scorecard, De Vicenzo was guilty of turning in an incorrect scorecard. Under the rules of the time, the higher score that De Vicenzo signed for stood, meaning that he was credited with a 66 rather than the 65 he actually shot. And meaning that he was one stroke off the lead rather than tied and heading into a playoff.