38th Academy Awards

The 38th Academy Awards, honoring the best in film for 1965, were held on April 18, 1966 at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium in Santa Monica, California.

They were hosted by Bob Hope.

The ceremony was broadcast on the ABC network and was the first to be broadcast in color.

The two most nominated films were The Sound of Music and Doctor Zhivago, each with ten nominations. Although both films ultimately won five awards, the winner of Best Picture was 20th Century Fox's and Robert Wise's The Sound of Music, adapted from the Rodgers and Hammerstein's Broadway musical.

The 1965 Academy Award Winners

Picture: The Sound of Music
Actor: Lee Marvin (Cat Ballou)
Actress: Julie Christie (Darling)
Supporting Actor: Martin Balsam (A Thousand Clowns)
Supporting Actress: Shelley Winters (A Patch of Blue)
Director: Robert Wise (The Sound of Music)
Adapted Screenplay: Robert Bolt (Doctor Zhivago)
Original Screenplay: Frederic Raphael (Darling)
Song: "The Shadow of Your Smile" (The Sandpiper)
Score: Doctor Zhivago (Original) / The Sound of Music (Adaptation)
Cinematography: Ship of Fools (Black and White) / Doctor Zhivago (Color)
Costume Design: Darling (Black and White) / Doctor Zhivago (Color)
Art / Set Decoration: Ship of Fools (Black and White) / Doctor Zhivago (Color)
Film Editing: The Sound of Music
Foreign Language Film: The Shop on Main Street (Czechoslovakia)
Sound: The Sound of Music
Sound Effects: The Great Race
Visual Effects: Thunderball
Short Films: The Dot and the Line (Cartoons) / The Chicken (Le Poulet) (Live Action)
Documentaries: To Be Alive! (Short) / The Eleanor Roosevelt Story (Feature)