Texas Western Beats Kentucky in Final Four

The 1966 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament involved 22 schools playing in single-elimination play to determine the national champion of men's NCAA Division I college basketball.

It began on March 7, 1966, and ended with the championship game on March 19 in College Park, Maryland. A total of 26 games were played, including a third place game in each region and a national third place game.
Texas Western, coached by Don Haskins, won the national title with a 72–65 victory in the final game over Kentucky, coached by Adolph Rupp. Coach Haskins started five black players for the first time in NCAA Championship history. Jerry Chambers of Utah was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. The 2006 film Glory Road is based on the story of the 1966 Texas Western team.

Kentucky, NCAA champions four times under Adolph Rupp, came to College Park, Md., looking to give its legendary coach an unprecedented fifth national title.

It wasn't to be. Kentucky, with five white starters, was upset by Texas Western, which started five blacks, 72–65. The Miners, led by Bobby Joe Hill and center Dave “Big Daddy” Lattin, won the game at the foul line with 28 points.