Hawaii admitted as 50th state in the United States

The Hawaii Constitution was framed by a Constitutional Convention under Act 334, Session Laws of Hawaii 1949.

It was adopted by the people at the election held on November 7, 1950, and was deemed amended when three propositions submitted to the people in accordance with the Act of Congress approved March 18, 1959, 73 Stat 4, Public Law 86-3, were adopted by the people at the election held on June 27, 1959. As so amended, it was accepted, ratified, and confirmed by Congress by the Act of March 18, 1959. It went into effect on August 21, 1959, upon the issuance of a presidential proclamation admitting the state of Hawaii into the Union.

In March 1959, both houses of Congress passed the Hawaii Admission Act and U.S. President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed it into law. (The act excluded Palmyra Atoll, part of the Kingdom and Territory of Hawaiʻi, from the new state.) On June 27 of that year, a referendum was held asking residents of Hawaiʻi to vote on accepting the statehood bill. Hawaiʻi voted at a ratio of 17 to 1 to accept.

Statehood bills for Hawai'i were introduced into the U.S. Congress as early as 1919 by the non-voting delegates Hawai'i sent to the U.S. Congress. Additional bills were introduced in 1935, 1947 and 1950. In 1959, the U.S. Congress approved the statehood bill. This was followed by a referendum in which Hawai'i residents voted overwhelmingly in support of statehood (the ballot question was: "Shall Hawaii immediately be admitted into the Union as a state?"), and on August 21, 1959 (the third Friday in August), President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed a proclamation making Hawai'i the 50th state.

President Eisenhower stated his support for the idea of statehood for Hawaii early in his administration but appropriate legislation failed to make it through Congress until the Hawaii Admission Act of 1959. President Eisenhower signed the bill into law on March 18, 1959. In June of 1959 the citizens of Hawaii voted on a referendum to accept the statehood bill and on August 21, 1959, President Eisenhower signed the official proclamation admitting Hawaii as the 50th state.