Games of the XV Olympiad Held in Helsinki, Finland

The 1952 Summer Olympics, officially known as the Games of the XV Olympiad, were an international multi-sport event held in Helsinki, Finland in 1952.

Helsinki had been earlier given the 1940 Summer Olympics, which were cancelled due to World War II.

A total of 69 nations participated in these Games, up from 59 in the 1948 Games. Twelve nations made their first Olympic appearance in 1952: The Bahamas, Gold Coast (now Ghana), Guatemala, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Netherlands Antilles, Nigeria, Soviet Union (USSR), Thailand, and Vietnam. Due to the division of Germany, German athletes from Saar entered a separate team for the only time.