VI Olympic Winter Games Held in Oslo, Norway

The 1952 Winter Olympics, officially known as the VI Olympic Winter Games, were a winter multi-sport event which was celebrated in 1952 in Oslo, Norway.

A total of 30 nations sent athletes to compete at these Games, which was the highest number to that date. New Zealand and Portugal participated at the Winter Olympic Games for the first time. Australia, Germany (of the three contemporary German states, only West Germany sent athletes), and Japan returned, after having missed the 1948 Winter Olympics. South Korea, Liechtenstein, and Turkey did not participate in 1952, after having competed in 1948.