22nd Academy Awards

The twenty-second Academy Awards ceremony was held on Thursday, March 23, 1950 at the RKO Pantages Theatre. The evening's program was hosted by Paul Douglas.

The 1949 Academy Award Winners

Picture: All the King's Men
Actor: Broderick Crawford (All the King's Men)
Actress: Olivia de Havilland (The Heiress)
Supporting Actor: Dean Jagger (Twelve O'Clock High)
Supporting Actress: Mercedes McCambridge (All the King's Men)
Director: Joseph L. Mankiewicz (A Letter to Three Wives)
Adapted Screenplay: Joseph L. Mankiewicz (A Letter to Three Wives)
Original Screenplay: Douglas Morrow, story (The Stratton Story) / Robert Pirosh, story and screenplay (Battleground)
Song: "Baby, It's Cold Outside" (Neptune's Daughter)
Score: The Heiress / On the Town
Cinematography: Battleground (Black and White) / She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (Color)
Costume Design: The Heiress (Black and White) / Adventures of Don Juan (Color)
Art / Set Decoration: The Heiress (Black and White) / Little Women (Color)
Film Editing: Champion
Sound: Twelve O'Clock High
Special Effects: Mighty Joe Young
Short Films: For Scent-imental Reasons (Cartoons) / Aquatic House Party (One-Reel) / Van Gogh (Two-Reel)
Documentaries: A Chance to Live and So Much for So Little (Short) / Daybreak in Udi (Feature)