Toronto Maple Leafs win Stanley Cup

The 1947 Stanley Cup Final was a best-of-seven series between the Toronto Maple Leafs and the defending champion Montreal Canadiens.

The Maple Leafs would win the series four games to two. This was the first all-Canadian finals in 12 years.

Montreal defeated the Boston Bruins 4–1 to advance to the finals. Toronto defeated the Detroit Red Wings 4–1 to advance to the finals.

Ted Kennedy was the leader with three goals including the Cup winner. Toronto had several new players in its lineup, including Howie Meeker, Bill Barilko and Bill Ezinicki, as Toronto sported the youngest NHL team to win the Cup to that time.
The series continued a competition that had gone on all season, with Montreal and Toronto finishing 1-2. Montreal coach Dick Irvin was mad at the beginning the series, recalling a season-ending injury to Montreal forward Elmer Lach from a body check by Don Metz. Montreal started out strong in the series, defeating the Leafs 6-0 in the opener. Bill Durnan of the Canadiens reputedly said "How did those guys get in the league?", although he denied saying those words later.[1]
The second game was a rough game, with Rocket Richard knocking two Leafs out with high-sticks to the head. Richard earned himself over 20 minutes in penalties and a game misconduct and a suspension for game three. The Leafs took advantage of the power plays and defeated Montreal 4-0. Richard would earn himself a further $250 fine imposed by president Clarence Campbell.[1]
Games three and four were played in Toronto and Toronto won both to take a 3-1 series lead. Returning to the Forum for game five, Montreal won the game to extend the series. In the sixth game, Turk Broda showed outstanding goaltending, holding off Ken Reardon on a late break-away and the Leafs won 2-1 to win the Stanley Cup.[2]
After the sixth game, the Cup was not presented after the game to the Leafs. Campbell declined to present the Cup immediately, concerned over the spectre of fan violence.

The all-Canadian Stanley Cup final was set up when first place Montreal defeated third place Boston four games to one, while Toronto eliminated Detroit in five games. It was the first time two Canadian teams competed for the Stanley Cup since the Toronto faced the Montreal Maroons for the championship in 1935. The Leafs' line-up was laced with rookies, including Bill Barilko, Bill Ezinicki and Calder Trophy winner, Howie Meeker. The Canadiens had finished first overall for an unprecedented fourth time. Montreal won the first game by shutout, while Toronto came back and blanked the Canadiens in game. But the upstart Leafs went on to defeat Montreal four games to two to win their third Stanley Cup of the decade, and the first of three in succession they would claim.