Formation of the Interim Government of India

Alarmed by the increasing lawlessness, Lord Wavell brought the Muslim League into the Interim Government.

The formation of the coalition between the Congress and the League fanned political controversy instead of putting it out. The Constituent Assembly had been summoned to meet on December 9, 1946, but the Muslim League refused to participate in its deliberations. The constitutional impasse looked complete when in the last week on November in an eleventh hour bid to bring the parties together, the British Government invited Wavell, Nehru, Jinnah, Liaquat Ali and Baldev Singh to London. The discussion proved

The interim government of India existed from September 2, 1946 to August 15, 1947 with the purpose of transitioning India from British Raj to independence. The interim government was formed on September 2, 1946 from the newly-elected Constituent Assembly of India.

After the end of the Second World War, British authorities in India released all the political prisoners who participated in the Quit India movement. The Indian National Congress, the largest Indian political party that had fought for national independence, agreed to participate in elections for a constituent assembly, as did the Muslim League. The newly-elected government of Clement Attlee dispatched the British Cabinet Mission to India to formulate proposals for the formation of a government that would lead an independent India.

In the elections for the Constituent Assembly, the Indian National Congress won a majority of seats, including almost every seat in the Hindu electorate. The Congress also won majorities in eight of eleven provinces. The Muslim League won the seats allocated to the Muslim electorate.